What does Martha look like?

My next question in my research plan is:

  1. What did Martha look like?

So where can I find the answer to this question?

Looking back at my previous post, I noticed when using the Tasmanian Names Index there was a result with her name and the word convicts – maybe these are her convict records I can look at.  I also know from previous reading that there are three main records:

  1. Conduct record – shows information about the offence and trial date as well as offences she did while here in VDL and shows who she worked for during her convict sentence.
  2. Description list – just as it says a description of the convict including scars and tattoos, often mentions native place.
  3. Indent list – the basics of where tried, the sentence but often includes parents and siblings.

OK so looks like I need to look up the description list to find the answer to my question.

I go back to the Tasmanian Names Index – type in Vircoe, Martha then click on the image in front of the one labelled convicts.

vircoe1

I now have the following appear on the screen.

vico12

So what information can I find by looking at just this part of the screen?

Martha’s surname is spelled two different ways – remember to use variants when checking birth, death, children births etc.

She departed London, UK on 9 May 1839 and arrived in Hobart (assumed as in Tasmanian records) on 12 September 1839. The ship was called the Hindostan and it was its first voyage. Not sure what the other numbers relate to. Maybe it was the 160th voyage of a convict ship to VDL. I reckon the last two must relate to numbering in the archives setup.

I also have this on the screen.

vico13

All right – now I am getting somewhere.

Let’s click on the photo for the description list – but first jot down those reference numbers underneath. Maybe when I save the image I find I could add them as a tag so it is there for future reference.

TAHO, CON19/1/13 p301 description list Martha Vircoe

wrongimageOh dear something is wrong, my Martha is not on this page – I checked image 301 but notice other numbers in the top right corner of the images. Maybe those are the pages I need to go to rather than an image number. Are the lists alphabetical by name so Vircoe would be near the end or are the names in groups by ship?

Go to the first couple of images by using the dropdown arrow near image and find a list for this convict book.

wrongimage2

Right so this book is grouped by ship and my Hindostan is 4th out of 8 in the list so would be somewhere near the middle of all the images. There are 570 images so let’s start at 250 and go back or forward by groups of 10 until I find a page saying which ship these records are for.

Image 250 surname beginning D, 240 beginning B, 230 beginning A, getting close go back by 5 this time, 225 beginning W so this must be the previous ship. Go forward now 1 at a time till I find the name of the ship. There on image 229 I can see the name Hindostan so I have now found the right ship records. Now I need to keep moving forward till I find Martha in the V section.

Image 290 are M, 310 is S, 320 is W, so going back now 1 at a time.

I found her on image 319. But I needed to change the size so it would fit the screen otherwise it was too small to read.

vico14

Now I need my readers help: Can you please transcribe this record and leave your answers in the comments? I wonder which words will be hardest to read?

7 thoughts on “What does Martha look like?

  1. Vice Martha
    House Maid
    5-1
    23
    Ruddy
    Round
    Bro – brown
    Freh – fresh
    High
    Black
    Hazel
    smooth
    Long

  2. I have a couple of tricky ones of my own I have puzzled over but they are slowly making sense.

    There were two words on this one that I couldn’t decipher. Once I finished, I decided to check the Female Convicts in VDL database to see if they had managed to work out those two words but no joy.

    Here is my attempt.

    Trade: House servant
    Height: 5/1
    Age: 23
    Complexion: ruddy
    Head: ?
    Hair: Bro (brown)
    Visage: Oval
    Forehead: High
    Eyebrows: Black
    Eyes: hazel
    Nose/Mouth: ?
    Chin: Long

  3. Hi Sue,

    Transcript for Martha Vico

    Name: Martha Vico
    Height without shoes: 5′ 1″
    Age: 23
    Complexion: Ruddy
    Head: Round
    Hair: Bro (Brown)
    Visage: Fresh
    Forehead: High
    Eyebrows: Black
    Eyes: Hazel
    Nose and mouth: Small
    Chin: Long

  4. Name : Vico Martha
    Trade: House Maid
    Height without shoes: 5′ 1″
    Age: 23
    Complexion: Ruddy
    Head: Round
    Hair: Bro[wn]
    Visage: Oval
    Forehead: High
    Eyebrows: Black
    Eyes: Hazel
    Nose: } Small
    Mouth: }
    Chin: Long

  5. Description for Martha Vico:
    House Maid
    5 ft 1
    Age 23
    Complexion ruddy
    Hair: Bro
    Head: broad
    Visage: Irish?
    Forehead: High
    Eyes: Hazel
    Nose/Mouth —
    Chin: Long

  6. Hi Sue Martha is coming to life. Think the girls have got most of it sorted. Good luck Marg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *