Finding cousins everywhere

Yesterday I got a friend request on Facebook. Before accepting requests I go check out the profile page of the person and see if they have friends I recognize. Or if they have similar interests by the other groups they are members of. But this friend request also had the surname England. This made me pause a bit more – my mum’s maiden name is England.  Finally I decided to delete the request.

About half an hour later I got a message this time through the Facebook messenger. It was Sue England – same person who had sent friend request. This time after a bit of chatting back and forward I found out she was my 2C1R and living in New South Wales. Sue was from part of the family I know very little about. My grandfather Henry Lewis England born 1888 and her great grandmother Lucy Grace England born 1894 were siblings.

Lucy Grace had a child Lewis Maxwell England born 30 April 1914.  But Lucy died 8 months later on 7 December 1914 aged just 21.

Sue is Lewis’s grand daughter. Pictured below is Sue and her brother Arthur – permission given to use image.

Sue and her brother Arthur.

Sue was looking for information on Rebecca Jackson her 3x great grandmother. I very quickly directed her to the other posts I have written here on my blog relating to the England side of the family. Rebecca Jackson (convict) married John England (convict) in Hobart in 1854.

Welcome to the family Sue!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *