Birth of Hannah Davey

Hannah Davey was my maternal grandmother. She was born on 10 November 1899 and was the 6th child out of 12 born to George Davey and Martha Colgrave living in the area of Evandale.

I have written many posts about Hannah, her parents as well as her married life.

I am lucky enough to have actually known Hannah who didn’t die until March 1967 when I  was nearly 11 years old. We would visit my grandparents house in Grosvenor Street, Sandy Bay. We would often visit the Chandler nursery over the back fence as they were also relations through Hannah’s mother-in-law.

I looked through my family photo box to find the oldest photo of Hannah. I found one where she had sent a picture of herself to her future husband with a lovely message on the back in her own handwriting.

Hannah 1921
Back of Hannah 1921

Always friends. Hanna Davey, N’ber 16th 1921

Mr Harry England, 14 Grovensor(sic) St, Sandy Bay

Aged 22 years

Notice she uses a different version of Hannah compared to her birth certificate.

Readers: Did any of your ancestors have a photo of themselves and send it to their fiancé or future partner?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *