Family photo box

A few years ago,  I was given a Christmas present inside a lovely cube shaped box. Instead of throwing out the box, I wondered what I could use it for.

I decided that would be a good box to use to keep my family photos in.

Now as the family historian, I get given lots of photos. Some are black and white, others are sepia, recent ones are in colour. Some are very small, others a lot larger. Some are in cardboard frames, others are just the photo. But this little box would hold photos that were up to postcard size.

I must have nearly 200 photos in the box and the majority have been digitized. These are then put in folders and saved under Surname First name Year Event.

The photos are mainly from my mother’s side of the family as both her and her sister gave me lots of the photos and were able to name who was in them. I think there are only about 20 photos from my father’s side of the family.

The largest photo which is black and white, you can see is slightly curled and is of my brother and I when we were young.

Readers: What do you do with all your photos? Are they in sticky albums, loose or have you digitized them?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *