I’ve made a decision

For this family history course, I have decided to concentrate on the SMITH family.

I will connect with some members of a family who are related to me but that I have previously had nothing to do with. Mainly because I know virtually none of my SMITH relatives.

Alanna and Glen got in contact with me earlier this year after seeing a message I had put on the maritime history museum facebook page. The museum had put up the same image of Captain William Smith as I have on one of my previous posts. Alanna replied that her husband Glen was a relative of  Captain Smith and thus began the connection.

I was invited by Alanna to attend a wedding in St Davids Park ; I sat on a bench but didn’t really feel comfortable going down and introducing myself as a long lost relative. Maybe a cup of coffee with Alanna before Christmas then organize a time for an interview with the family after Christmas.

That should still give me time to write up a transcript of part of the interview.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *