Convict ancestors

As many of you know, I have been taking part in a UTAS course called Convict Ancestors. It has been fantastic and I recommend anyone with a convict in VDL, NSW or WA to take the course if you have the time.

The course leads you through life in Britain during the late 18th century when transportation began to Australia through to the time transportation finished. You are given lots of resources – websites to find records such as the Old Bailey, hulk records and gaol records around London.

You are then given clues to finding records on the convict ships, their captains and surgeon superintendents – where to find the journals they wrote in which your convict may be mentioned if sick on the journey over to Australia.

Once in Australia, there are records for conduct, descriptions, indents, musters and various other resources for VDL, NSW and WA as well as some for Moreton Bay, the Exiles from Pentonville and the Parkhurst boys.

Over my next three posts, I am going to copy my story which we had to create using Our Family Past. As I probably wont be taking out a subscription to that website, mainly because I have this blog, I need to copy the work I did to somewhere, and where better than this family history blog.

I will also be putting together some resource ages including links to websites mentioned by both the lecturers and other students in the discussion areas of the course. You will be able to find these under the Sources tab above the header.

 

7 thoughts on “Convict ancestors

  1. Sounds wonderful Sue. I look forward to reading your story. I started adding to your alphabet but fell by the wayside. I am easily distracted and I haven’t finished my convict story yet, so I’d better get on with it.
    Regards
    Tricia

  2. I have enjoyed doing a story on Mary Talbot and how interesting these expeditions into history can be!
    Peggy

  3. That sounds great Sue. I look forward to reading it. I hope that next year I’ll be I able to partake in the subject, when it next comes up.
    Pam.

  4. Thanks for all your help in Convict Ancestors. I look forward to reading your convict story.

    Dianne

  5. Sounds good Sue. I’m not sure if I’ll keep using OFP or start a blog on another site.
    You gave me some preliminary advice about that some time ago.
    Looking forward to reading your story

  6. Sue, many thanks for your generous sharing of information. Unfortunately I have not been able to do that unit yet due to time constraints so really appreciate your time in doing this blog. Look forward to the next stage. With lots of convict ancestors my husband is very keen on me working on his family history,.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *